Seaside Lofts

I’ll be the first to tell you that I am not a pro builder by any stretch.  In the Sims 3, I have built maybe one or two houses from scratch, added on to a few more, and created a church.  That’s it until now. 

I bought High End Loft Stuff a while back and have a rich, young 3rd generation sim, so I thought I’d finally put it to use by finding her a nice modern loft.  I’m sure there are many good ones out there, but the notion came into my head to simulate a Sims 2 Apartment Life style experience by getting a lot with multiple lofts, condo-style and moving multiple sims onto the lot.  I couldn’t find anything like that, so I decided to make it.

As I started, I noticed that EA added the ability to create diagnonal foundations and walls.  Silly me, I assumed that because it was easy to do so, it would be easy to design and furnish the interiors and exteriors of diagonal buildings as well.  Perhaps it would be for a more experienced builder, but I really struggled.  I didn’t know that you couldn’t do diagonal stairs as well.  Getting objects to fit up against walls properly was a big challenge too.  I had never used moveobjects before, but it’s my best friend now!

Anyway, it’s been a lot of hard work for me, and I know it’s not perfect, but I personally love it, and I thought it might fit a niche for others too.  I have playtested it quite a bit, and the only play issue I’m aware of is that sims can’t dance or workout using the upstairs stereos.  However, there are a couple of stereos outside and they have no trouble using the TVs downstairs.

About the lofts:  Each loft is 1 bed, 1 bath with an open floorplan.  Each has an oceanview with floor to ceiling large glass windows.  The side of the loft that faces the street is largely window free for privacy (and contrast).  They share a center courtyard with a fire pit, barbeque, foosball table, etc. and a pyramid style pool facing the beach.  The lofts are furnished largely with HELS objects, but I did use some additional cc:

Dresden’s Velvet Kitchen

Einfach Simlisch’s City and Town Build Windows and Doors

Stylist Sims Nissa Living Room

Simcredible Designs Distant Vapour Wallamp and Mirror

You can download the lot at my EA page.  Here are some images to give you an idea of the layout and functionality:

 

Leave a Reply

