The Family Retreat

This new home was a labor of love for a particular sims family of mine.  They are artistic, musical, and a bit eccentric.  They love to entertain and tend to have at least a few parties every week.  They also like to keep the generations together as much as possible, and so need plenty of bedrooms.  Thus, I designed an extremely large and versatile home for them.  I wanted it to be resort-like in terms of what it offers.  The house is not based on any design plan, so any successes or failures I have with it are entirely my own doing.

The Family Retreat is situated on a 60×60 lot.  It has 6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, 2 offices, living room, den, kitchen, dining room, dance floor, gym, sauna, jacuzzi, library/music room, game room, and an inner courtyard with a pool, outdoor cooking and dining, and a big backyard with a playground and plenty of other outdoor entertainment.  It also includes two attached garages.  I really designed this one entirely for myself, so I don’t expect anyone else to necessarily want it, but I’m proud of some of the design work, especially some of the interior design, and would like to show it off a bit.

If you would like to download the home, I’m offering two versions:  fully furnished with custom content or unfurnished with no custom content except patterns.  All CC used is listed at the end of this post.

Front Exterior Shots:

Back Exterior Shots:

Overhead View:

Inner Courtyard Shots:

Interior Shots:

  • Living Room

  • Kitchen

  • Dining Room

  • Den

  • Dance Area/Lounge/Bar

  • Gym

  • Sauna

  • Jacuzzi Room

  • Game Room

Note:  I had particular fun with this room.  It was based on this inspiration shot:

I was so taken with the room that I tried to recreate it as closely as possible with a couple additions of my own:

  • Library/Chess/Music Room

  • Offices

  • Master Bedrooms

  • Master Bathroom (x2 – same layout)

  • Kids Bedrooms

  • Nursery

  • Bathrooms (x3)

  • Overheads/Floorplan

A good chunk of the artwork in the home was actually created by my sims family.  I was told that as long as the paintings weren’t framed, they should transfer with the house.  I have not verified this myself, however.  If you find that they don’t show up, they can by and large be duplicated (or similar paintings created) by a sim with high artistic skill and the neurotic trait.

Custom Content included in the fully furnished version only:

Custom Content not included:

EA Content:

I used content from all three expansion packs.  For the furnished version, it’s also important to note that I used items from the High End Loft Stuff pack and store items: Illuminator of the IlluminatiAnnie’s Well-Organized ShelfTwizy/Renault Set (plants)Asian Fusion Set (Potted Bamboo Glory, Table of Balance, Tranquility Stone), Earth Day Set (Leaftastic and Topper), Weba Yayfoo (Learn your Sim-E-Zees), Inferno’s FireplaceChampionship Dreams Store SetTelevision of Joy.  I also used Dock the DJ and Music Arsenal from the T-Mobile promotion.

I know, it’s a ton of content, but again, I was designing for myself.  I’ve got one more home that I’m currently working on, and after that, I’m probably done from a creative perspective for a while.  I want to spend more time actually playing the game – there are still careers from Ambitions that I haven’t tried yet and lots of Late Night content, not to mention the upcoming Generations EP.  Also, I’m due to give birth to my second child in early June, and I doubt I’ll have much time for simming of any sort after that!

5 thoughts on “The Family Retreat

  1. Thank you for this wonderful lot, and of course, for including most of the CCs in it. It must have taken quite some time to organize the CC and store content list, so I really appreciate it.

  2. Thanks for the great feedback, glad you like it! And Tige, yes, every time I do the CC list for a house, it almost convinces me never to use CC again. 😛

  3. Thank you, I commented already on MS3B but I wanted to let you know that I really like what you did especially the game room can’t wait to play. Thanks for providing both the furnished and unfurnished versions.

Leave a Reply

