Single Story Build – Contest Winners

A couple of months ago, I hosted a building contest on the Sims 3 forums (my first!).  I had so many wonderful entries, that it was tough to choose a winner.  I scored the entries across a number of categories, including architecture, interior design, landscaping, lighting, functionality, and forums presentation.  I also awarded bonus points for things like innovation, cool water features, attention to detail, excellence in decor, etc.  All homes are CC free.

I’ve been meaning to blog about some of my favorites, so I thought I’d give you a run-down of the top 10:

10.  Mocca Breeze by stevesuzz

This home had some really interesting and unique architectural features.  I was especially taken with the interesting angles in the front and with the structure of the pool area.

Front Exterior

Pool Area

9. The Rosewood by romagi1

This home has a charming exterior and some very nice interior design moments as well.  I especially like what the creator did with the rugs and the color palettes chosen throughout the home.  The creator found a very clever way to sign her name to the lot too – if you download it, see if you can find it!

Front Exterior

Rugs in Living Room

Color Scheme in Girl’s Bedroom

8. Villa Alcala by walkingstick

Talk about architecture – this was my clear winner in that category!  Even though I didn’t have the correct arch and doors, you can still see what a masterpiece this home is.  I loved the backyard as well, just as charming, and the surpirse little interior courtyard.

Front Exterior

Back Exterior

Interior Courtyard

7. The Hearthstone by Sandraelle

The front landscaping really adds to this home’s curb appeal, which is already strong with its great architecture.  I especially liked the backyard pool with its unique shape.

Front Exterior

Pool

6. Single Story Family Home by cwaddell

This home is landscaped very nicely.  Yes, one bougainvilla tree popped up in the front, but the creator fixed that after the contest.  The backyard is just lovely.  Rooms in the interior were spacious and nicely decorated.

Front Exterior

Back Exterior

Spacious Kitchen/Dining

5. New Cottage by robotentity

This home has great curb appeal, clean lines, and some very impressive moments in the interior design.  I especially loved the use of blinds in the master bedroom.

Front Exterior

Back Exterior

Master Bedroom

4. Single Story Home by JVENN

I was really impressed by the exterior of this home.  Some good architecture, nice landscaping, beautiful spots in the backyard with plenty of open space for ones own use as well.  The interiors were good, but I just didn’t find them as compelling.

Front Exterior

Back Exterior

Another Back Exterior

3. Lil Bit O Country by MeaganJo

This home was well designed, inside and out.  I loved the almost Victorian touch on the exterior wall covering, and the backyard had a great pond, kids area, vegetable garden, and more.  The interior design was strong as well.  Take a look at this lovely open concept kitchen/dining area.  This entry scored especially high on functionality – there were no issues with unusable objects, routing failures, etc.

Front Exterior

Cute Pond

Nice Interior

2. Concrete and Glass House by basiedog

This is an amazing modern build.  The architecture was very good and added lots of interest.  I loved basiedog’s idea to bring the outside in; it gave the house so many great moments.  There were lots of little areas to discover: indoor gardens, multiple kids playgrounds, lots of lounging spots.  Well, just take a look at the pictures, and you’ll see why this property was neck in neck with the contest winner, only falling short by 1 point!

Front Exterior

Interior Shot – notice the architecture

Pool

Jacuzzi

1. One Store House by Agnezawars

While this home was not the top scorer in any specific category, it did score very highly in all of them, and it netted the most bonus points for water features, innovation in interior design, and excellent attention to detail.  The standout features to me were the creator’s use of in-game photography and her creation of custom aquariums, both of which inspired me to implement those features in my own future builds.

Front Exterior

Pool/Jacuzzi

Master Bedroom

Living Room

In Game Art

Custom Aquariums

I received 25 entries for the contest, so there are more great homes that didn’t quite make the top 10 but are worth a look as well.  If you’re in the market, you can always check the original forum thread here.

2 thoughts on “Single Story Build – Contest Winners

  1. The Austere is quite stunning. I love the architecture. You are a very skilled, top-notch builder, designer and artist. I am so glad I found your website. Your creations are works of art. Thank you for sharing with those of us who are not so skilled at building. How did you create that plumbob fountain in the front window?

    1. Thank you very much for the compliments – so glad you like the Austere! The plumbob was from the Showtime expansion, and I used the Fog Emitter object to create the water feature effects.

Leave a Reply

