The Austere

The Austere

Another one of my long-time WIPs is now complete!  I am pleased to present The Austere.  Severely modern, yet softened by water and greenery, this home was built for entertaining, inside and out.  At 293k furnished on a 30×40 lot, it offers 4 bedrooms, 3-1/2 baths, and the usual functional spaces as well as a dance floor, pool table, gyroscope, and bar.  You’ll find amazing areas outside as well, with outdoor dining and lounging, 2 pools, and a jacuzzi.  The home also boasts unique water features and in-game photography as decor.

You may download the furnished version here.  I am also offering an unfurnished version so that those with fewer expansions/stuff packs/store items can still make use of the home; download it here.  The home was originally inspired by this image:

Inspiration Image

I was immediately struck by the clean lines and deceptive simplicity of the architecture.  I knew this would not be an easy design to duplicate in the Sims 3, but I wanted a challenge.  It turned out to be a true labor of love, requiring some painstaking CFE work to get right.  Also, as that image was the only one I had to work from, the entire downstairs and back portion of the home was left up to my imagination.  As I worked with the structure, I decided I really wanted to use water and plants to soften the lines and add visual interest.  I wanted a lot of platforms to impart additional geometry.  Unfortunately, I soon discovered that attempting to add fountains, pools, and platforms after performing CFE does not work out well.  I wound up having to do a complete rebuild from scratch after I was already rather far along!

In the end, I have spent months on this house – building, rebuilding, ruminating, and tweaking.  Every time I thought I was done, I’d give it a few days and come up with a new idea or a better way of doing something.  However, I think all of the extra time and contemplation has really paid off with a build that is innovative, and (I hope) visually stunning.  I have also fully playtested the property.  There are two caveats regarding functionality: the big screen TV and fish tank in the backyard should be considered decor.  Sims can turn the TV on and off, but they can’t change channels or actively watch it.  Apparently, sims need to be able to path to a TV in order to watch it/change channels.  It seems silly to me, given that they should be using a remote control, but there’s nothing I can do about it, and I love the way it looks up there.  It’s a similar situation for the fish tank; sims can’t stock it with fish because they can’t reach it.  However, it is pre-stocked when you purchase it, so it doesn’t seem like a big issue.

Below are some photos that highlight some of my favorite features in The Austere, but rather than posting every single picture here, I’d like to refer you to my slideshow where the images are a bit larger, and you can cycle through them as quickly or slowly as you please.

I really love some of the night time effects I achieved, so let me show you those:

Upstairs Pool at Night

Jacuzzi at Night

Fish Tank at Night

Of course, there are plenty of great areas to see, day or night:

Backyard with View of Big Screen TV

A Quiet, Romantic Spot

Downstairs Pool with custom water feature and view of Upstairs Pool

Foyer

Open Ceilings in Living Area

Sleek, modern dining

Great modern kitchen as well

Downstairs Water Feature

One of the Bedrooms

There really is so much more to see, so again, please have a look at my slideshow.

Requirements for furnished version:  As I uploaded this version to the Exchange, you can view the detailed list here.

Requirements for unfurnished version:  Expansions ( World Adventures, Ambitions, Late Night, Generations, Showtime), Stuff Packs (Town Life, High End Loft), Store Items: (Cyber Creeping Vine,  plants from the free Toyota Prius PackPotted Bamboo Glory, and  Shrub of Tranquility).

3 thoughts on “The Austere

  1. Is this one built with patch 1.36? Cause i’m getting a message that my game needs a software update. I run version 1.34.

      1. Well, then i skip this one for a while. Sorry. I use some scriptmods which aren’t updated yet for 1.36 and which are working now. Some from whiterider and buzzler. As soon as those are working for 1.36 i will update.

Leave a Reply

