Forest Retreat Redux

Forest Retreat Redux

Embedded in nature, this CC free, 4 bed/4 bath A-Frame offers rustic living on a wooded 50×50 lot for 168k furnished.  Amenities include living room and den, both with fireplaces, open kitchen, dining, and bar area, and oversized garage with an attached workshop.  The backyard offers a pool, jacuzzi, treehouse, outdoor dining, and relaxing.  In game photography was used throughout the home for an authentic feel.

You may download the furnished version here.  I am also offering an unfurnished version so that those with fewer expansions/stuff packs/store items can still make use of the home; download it here.

This is not a new build, but rather one of my old favorites that unfortunately was crammed full of custom content.  At the time, there just wasn’t that much store and expansion pack content suitable for the type of home I wanted to build.  I especially felt that it needed the CC windows and chimney that I used.  Now, since the release of the clear story windows in Lucky Palms and with the advent of additional rustic themed objects in the store and in the latest Supernatural expansion, the custom content is no longer necessary.

You can read about my original inspiration and home here.  In addition to revising the home to remove CC, I also tried to improve the property in various ways, from structure and roofing to landscaping and interior layout.  Again, I used in-game photography to create beautiful and unique moments in the interior.  Here are some images of the home.  To see more, please take a look at my slideshow.  Hope you enjoy the new and improved version of the Forest Retreat!

Pool/Jacuzzi – I did some reshaping here to make it look more natural

Kids Play Area – so nice to be able to use a real treehouse. That rabbit is so cute! Or is it creepy?…

Living Room – the new lounger from Supernatural is perfect for this space, as is the faux animal rug

Kitchen – I hope it’s quite an improvement over the original

Revised Den

Revised Master Bedroom – I really wish the rustic column could be extended beyond a single story, but since it can’t, I tried to top the columns in a way that would look good

Nursery – was an empty room in the original; I decided I shouldn’t be lazy and should go ahead and give it a purpose in this edition

Requirements for furnished version:  As I uploaded this version to the Exchange, you can view the detailed list here.  Note that the store list does not include (but should) pieces from The Complete Castle by Castle Kits (unfortunately, they cannot be purchased individually – I used them to build the chimney), Greek Window from the Olympic Physique set, and the clear story windows from Lucky Palms (again cannot be purchased indvidually, at least at the current time)

In the unfurnished version, I used items from World Adventures, Late Night, Ambitions, and Pets.  I also used the following store items: The Sims Classic- Knot-Hole by Log Creations, The Sims Classic- Forever Redwood Potted Tree, Mega Nega-Door, pieces from The Complete Castle by Castle Kits and the clear story windows from Lucky Palms.

5 thoughts on “Forest Retreat Redux

    1. Yes, they’re a little tougher to work with than the CC windows, but if you give your home more height, they do quite nicely. I also hope EA will release similar windows with different angles/sizes down the road.

Leave a Reply

