Tru-Log Cabin

In January, Maxis released the first game pack for The Sims 4, Outdoor Retreat.  I was looking forward to it because I love a more nature oriented setting, and I couldn’t wait to build my own cabin in the woods.  There were a lot of great new objects included in the pack, but I was disappointed in the “log style” siding that came with it:

As you can see, it really looks more like striped wall paper.  Contrast that to how log siding was done in The Sims 3:

You might argue that the “logs” were too thin perhaps, but there was no mistaking them for striped wall paper; their textures were right on.  Another thing I felt like I was missing in the pack was a true stone column.

As I looked over the new pack objects, a solution to both of these issues occurred to me; I could potentially stack the log benches or chairs in the walls to simulate log siding, and I could stack the new stone garbage cans to form stone columns.  I always like to find a novel use for new items!  It was laborious, but that’s exactly what I wound up doing, and I hope you’ll like the results.  I call it the Tru-Log Cabin:

This build was inspired by a Sylvan Lake cabin designed by Lands End Developers:

I love all the stone work, the landscaping, and of course the cabin architecture itself.  The new stone benches included in the pack were a great help in constructing the plant terraces and bases for the stone columns in TS4.  I was thinking about trying to construct a large waterfall, but I decided this lot was more suited to subtlety and so designed a small but attractive water feature near the side porch.  I did add some pops of color that you don’t see in the original, but I think it works better that way for the game.

Let me show you more of the exterior.  Here’s another shot of the front entry:

The left side:

A close-up of the water feature:

The right side (this is right on the property line, so not much landscaping here):

The back:

A close-up of the picnic area:

When it came to the interior, I was going for a rustic and romantic feel, using plants as often as I could without overwhelming the relatively small spaces.  As you enter the home, you’ll first step into the split kitchen area.  This is similar to the inspiration home’s interior design:

I would have preferred to go with an open ceiling area similar to what you see in the inspiration, but it really isn’t possible in TS4 right now.  Exposed roofing is just plain ugly and dark, and there are a lot of graphical glitches, so it just doesn’t work.  Here’s what I came up with instead:

The kitchen is open to the dining and living areas on the main level:

It’s tough to get a good picture of the sitting area by the fireplace because it is so small, so here’s a more overhead perspective:

I tried to do something a little special with the bookcase, again using the stacked garbage cans as columns:

I also added a little nook with a bar and more private seating:

Also on the first level, there is a bedroom and full bath.  Here’s a glimpse of the hallway leading to them:

Here is the bedroom; I was definitely going for some romance in here:

And the rustic but serviceable bathroom:

It’s such a small space, that it was tough to get decent pictures of it, but take a look at the overheads a bit further down to get a better idea of the layout.

Moving upstairs, here’s a couple of shots of the landing:

There are two bedrooms and one full bath upstairs.  With the master, I wanted it to be spacious, airy, and again romantic:

The second bedroom has been decorated for a child:

And finally, the shared bathroom:

Here are the overhead shots to show you the layout of the property:

2nd Floor:

Close-ups of bedrooms and bathroom:

1st Floor:

Close-up of bedroom and bathroom:

And I’ll close out with some night shots:

Tru-Log Cabin can be placed on a 30×20 lot and costs $202,956 (or $1,984/day to rent).  If you would like to take a look at it in game, click here to download it from the online Gallery.  Or if you prefer, you can search for it in the game Gallery by its name, or by my hashtag, #bryscreations.  I also created a video for this build, which you can view by clicking here.

Note that the lot contains MOO’d and resized objects.  In order to retain the positions and adjusted sizes, please add the home to your lot in build mode rather than via Manage Worlds with MOO turned on (CTRL-SHIFT-C to bring up the cheats console, then type testingcheats on, and then bb.moveobjects).  Once the lot has been properly placed, you should be able to turn MOO back off (just type bb.moveobjects in the cheats console again) during play.

If you experience any oddities during placement or play, I do apologize.  I tested this build to the best of my ability, both from a play testing perspective (the only issue I found is that the downstairs bathroom mirror is not entirely functional; just use the mirror in the bedroom next door) and in placing it from my Library (several times!).  However, the MOO cheat does have its bugs and quirks.  One that I should note is that sometimes when you load a save with the lot, the game may place an object or two in your household inventory.  You can avoid this if you first go into build or play mode on another lot and turn MOO on before playing this lot.  Saving and/or loading with MOO turned on seems to reduce the frequency of this happening, and unlike in TS3, playing with MOO on does not seem to have any detrimental effects.

 

Leave a Reply

