Think Inside the Box – Part 2

Welcome to Part 2 of my Clearview series of homes for The Sims 4.  If you haven’t already, you should take a look at Part 1 to see how this all came about.  In this post, we’ll take a tour of my second home in the series, Clearview Midrange, designed for sims who’ve managed to accumulate enough money in the game to expand a bit and enjoy some amenities, but who aren’t quite ready for mansion level living.  If you would prefer to watch a video tour rather than scroll through a wall of images, I completely understand, and the video is available here.  If you’re continuing on, here are images of my Clearview Midrange’s exterior.

Front Views:

This home is about color and play; your sims should have a blast raising a family here.  Like my Clearview Starter, the design is again modern, and I used basement spaces not only to elevate the enlarged display cases that make up four sections of the home, but also to elevate many other objects, such as the unique center planter display at the entry and the “dots” surrounding various landscaping elements:

Right Side:

I couldn’t resist tossing a couple of the new mirrored windows in there; love how they reflect the desert surroundings.

Back:

Left Side:

The unique little circular fountains on either side were elevated using basement spaces.

A closer look at the structure and roofing:

Let’s head inside and continue our tour in the kitchen:

The turquoise “rug” you see is actually an enlarged object (table, I believe) elevated from the basement.  Sims route right over it with no problems.  One thing I want to highlight is the custom backsplash I created over the stove area via photographs:

The stove had to be recessed into this little outlet slightly away from the display case in order to be functional.  Unfortunately, stoves and grills placed “inside” display cases will not work.  Still, I needed something in this recess anyway.  From the kitchen, we can turn and head for the living room:

Here I was excited to try my hand at another modern animated fireplace.  I really enjoy building them and then watching them “crackle” in live mode.

The “rug” in the living room is again actually objects elevated from the basement.  I loved how it enabled me to set up the four black corners.  Heading for the back half of the home, you can see that I set up a unique configuration of book cases as well as a nifty photo of some custom content wall art (credits noted at end):

Now, those book shelves aren’t actually functional, but there is another fully functional shelf in the master bedroom, so I kept these as-is for décor.  You can see that I had more fun with “dots” on the bridge between sections.

Once across, you can turn right to enter the master bedroom:

I liked the idea of placing the head of the bed in the recessed alcove for privacy vs. using window coverings, which doubtless would have looked odd with this configuration anyway.  More “rugs” in here, and I used basement spaces for the nightstand configuration as well.

Returning to the hallway, you can cross left to the children’s room:

More “rugs,” a photo of CC, and really, the views are what speak loudest in any section of this home.  Each bedroom has a large glass skylight above it also, which isn’t really shown in the pictures.  Returning to the adjoining area, finally, you’ll enter the bathroom:

I was going for a bit of a spa vibe in here (was starting to get excited for the future spa pack).  No actual spa objects, as I hadn’t yet purchased the pack, and I was committed to doing these builds without it.

So that’s it for the interior.  Let me show you the overhead layouts for the property.  Roofs up:

Roofs down:

Living:

Dining:

Master Bedroom:

Kids Bedroom:

Bathroom:

Clearview Midrange is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath single story home that costs $60,966 and is situated on a 30×20 lot (I used Dusty Turf in Oasis Springs).  It has been thoroughly play tested, and with the exception of the bookshelves in the living room, I found no issues with it (your sim can use the bookshelf in the master bedroom instead).  I do want to note that sims can route through the glass “walls” of the home.  This is because the display containers are elevated from the basement and don’t actually exist on the sims level.  There is no issue with playability, but it might look a bit odd to you.  If it really bothers you, you can block the walls with fountains or other objects that aren’t routable.

If you’re interested in taking a look at Clearview Midrange in game,  click here to download the build from the online Gallery.  Or, if you prefer, you can search for it in the game Gallery by its name, or by my hashtag, #bryscreations.  Please be sure to place the home in build mode, so that lighting colors and intensities are preserved.

Credits: I had my sim take photos of wall art created by Pinkzombiecupcake from her Red modern paintings set found here.  She also took photos of Blue Nature by Neferu found here.  Note that there is no custom content in the build itself.

Leave a Reply

