Purple Rain

I have been very struck by the recent deaths of various artists and musicians I’ve loved.  In particular, the passing of David Bowie and Prince hit me hard.  I was in the middle of another WIP, but as various Prince songs were going through my mind, I was struck by inspiration and decided to create a tribute build to him.  Purple Rain is the result.

Purple Rain is a modern, vibrant luxury home for a single or couple.  It features open living/dining/kitchen on the first floor, spa and bathroom on the second floor, and a master bedroom with attached bathroom on the third floor.  In addition, there is a swimming pool, and a dance floor where your sim can dance in the “rain.”  I’ve created another unique fireplace design, and I personalized the build with photos and paintings created by my sims in the game.  There are even pictures of the man himself (thanks to orangestripedcat who created the awesome Prince sim I used).

Here are additional shots of the exterior.  Left side:

Right side:

Back:

And a couple shots taken from a more top down view so that you can see the roof design:

Here’s a closer look at the star fountain I designed:

I also had fun using bar objects to create this unique water feature:

And I took advantage of a bug that drops objects below ground level outdoors to make a unique little outdoor dining spot:

Here’s a shot of the small pool area in the back:

And here you can see my sim dancing a bit on the master balcony in the “rain” while his sim girlfriend looks on:

Time to head inside.  On the first level, you’ll see the kitchen and bar to the right:

A quick note before I show more of the interior:  these shots were taken at night, and the lighting is very bright, especially for the whites.  This is deliberate, but during the day, things are much more muted if you prefer it toned down.

Straight ahead from the entrance is the dining area.  Note the glass floor:

And to the left is the living room with my custom fireplace design as well as a special musical area dedicated to Prince:

Moving upstairs, the second level provides a spa area with balcony hot tub surrounded by modern waterfalls:

There is also a full bathroom:

Heading up to the third and final floor, you’ll find a roomy master bedroom that provides work and hobby space as well as a uniquely designed bed.  The big feature of the room is the dramatic fish tank that I embellished:

The master bathroom provides a dramatic tub with waterfall but also a shower for those looking for faster clean-up:

That wraps it up for the interior.  Here are some overhead shots of the property in order to clarify the layout:

Roof up:

3rd Floor:

2nd Floor:

1st Floor:

Purple Rain costs $186,957 and is situated on a 20×20 lot (I used Old Quarter Inn in Windenburg).  It has been thoroughly play tested, and I found no issues with it.  I do want to note that if you place it on the Old Quarter Inn lot, you should first change the lot’s type to Residential and then bulldoze it.  Changing the lot’s type is a preventative measure as lots sometimes get marked “generic” if not specifically changed.  The bulldozing helps prevent an issue with flooring being removed on the lot; if you don’t bulldoze it, some patches of grass will show up where I originally placed flooring (I didn’t know this lot was bugged until I was pretty much done building).  Of course, you can easily cover these back up with floor tile.

If you’re interested in taking a look at Purple Rain in game,  click here to download the build from the online Gallery.  Or, if you prefer, you can search for it in the game Gallery by its name, or by my hashtag, #bryscreations.  Please be sure to place the home in build mode, so that lighting colors and intensities are preserved.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

