Open City Living

When Maxis announced that the upcoming expansion pack for The Sims 4 would have a city theme, I was overjoyed.  City worlds are always some of my favorites, and the more modern architecture usually is a good fit for what I like to design.

I’ve had my eye on this building from Pinterest for a while, and decided to create my take on it in the game:

What I love about it:  the height, the openness, and the gorgeous huge glass doors and windows.  I incorporated those elements into my design, but I also wanted to play a bit with an aqua concept, using the new “Great Wall of Bubbles” object from the Dine Out game pack.  I thought it might be a cool twist if I used the Wall of Bubbles as windows instead of actual windows.  The resulting effect is quite fun, I think.  I would enjoy having at least one room with windows like that in my own house!

Here are some additional images of the exterior of the build.  I tried to make the architecture interesting from every angle:

Left Side:

Right Side:

Corner View:

Back:

The residence is 3 stories, and you can see from the exterior shots, that while there isn’t a lot of outdoor room (I chose to work with a 20×15 lot size), there is an outdoor bar area, and a nook that features a peek-a-boo hot tub and a relaxing spot for yoga or other meditations.  Here’s a closer look at these elements.

Bar:

Hot tub/Yoga:

Moving inside, the first level provides open living, dining, and kitchen.  This is what it looks like as you enter:

Here’s a closer look at the areas:

Opposite the kitchen is a small full bathroom:

Heading up to the second level, you’ll find a master bedroom with a balcony that overlooks the interior below.  I was going for a built-in aquarium look with the bed as well as a futuristic wall décor design:

The room also features a desk and dresser:

And, as mentioned, a cute balcony:

There is an attached master bathroom that really carries the aqua theme along:

Heading upstairs once more, you reach the second master bedroom.  I had some fun again designing a unique frame for the bed, and having the glass dance floor (from the Get Together expansion pack) acting as a skylight over the room really enhanced the colors and lighting.

This bedroom also includes a dresser and desk, as well as bookshelves, and it has an attached balcony that overlooks the back of the property.

And that’s it for the interior!  Here are some overhead shots to show you the layout of each level:

Top – Roof On (I tried to make a unique design here):

3rd Level:

2nd Level:

Ground Floor:

That concludes my little tour of Open City Living.  I’m excited about exploring the new expansion pack with this home as my base!  I know that apartments are a big part of the pack, and I’m sure I’ll give them a try as well, but I wanted something upscale that my more affluent sims could get into right away.  Since there are two master bedrooms, the home can easily support a couple of singles or romantic couples.  I hope you’ll give Open City Living a try as well!

Open City Living costs $182,160 and is situated on a 20×15 lot (I used Oak Alcove in Newcrest).  It has been thoroughly play tested, and the only issue I found with it was that sometimes, while preparing a meal, sims will use the sink area as if it were a blank counter.  They are still able to properly prepare/cook the meal, so it’s just a weird thing visually.  I tried switching out the counter sink for a pedestal sink, and sims would then use the open counter properly but wanted to go wash dishes in the bathroom.  I opted to go with the original design at that point.

If you’re interested in taking a look at Open City Living in game,  click here to download the build from the online Gallery.  Or, if you prefer, you can search for it in the game Gallery by its name, or by my hashtag, #bryscreations.  Please be sure to place the home in build mode, so that lighting colors and intensities are preserved.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Open City Living

Leave a Reply

